Powell (Kit) Quintet

Click above for larger size

Composer: Powell, Kit, 1937 -
   Country of origin: New Zealand
Title: Quintet for Clarinet and Strings
   Other titles: Clarinet Quintet
   Movements: Adagio ma non troppo; Allegretto; Adagio; Allegro vivace
Year(s) composed: 1962 (revised 1963)
Publisher: SOUNZ
Duration (in minutes): 16
Clarinet type: B - Flat
Note: See comment below

1 thought on “Powell (Kit) Quintet

  1. My “Quintet for Clarinet and Strings” is an early work, no. 2 in my work list. It was written while I was still a student, performed twice, once at the Music Summer School (Cambridge NZ) in 1963 and again in Wellington 1964. The first version (1962) was in three movements. Later I revised it and added a 4th movement (no.2 in the present form) and presented it as one of the works for my B.Mus degree in composition. To my knowledge, the work in its final (4 movement) form has never been performed. Kit Powell

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.