Underhill Still Image

Click above for larger image

Composer: Underhill, Owen, 1954 -
   Country of origin: Canada
Title: Still Image for Clarinet and String Quartet
   Other titles:
   Movements: Misterioso, ma con moto; Contemplative; Largo Molto Sostenuto;
Year(s) composed: 2007 (rev. 2011)
Publisher: CMC
Duration (in minutes): 16
Clarinet type: B-flat
Note: See comment below

1 thought on “Underhill Still Image

  1. Still Image was commissioned by François Houle with the assistance of the British Columbia Arts Council. The first performance was November 6, 2007, François Houle, clarinet and the Bozzini String Quartet at the Cellar, Vancouver, B.C., Canada

    From the composer’s program notes:
    Still Image … is a three-movement work which uses selective special effects. The second movement, which includes an improvised cadenza, is entirely based on ‘duotones’ (rather beautiful two-part multi phonics) that François introduced me to. The first movement relies extensively on quartertones in the clarinet. The title refers to a seemingly still or static image. As you look (or listen) more closely, you begin to go inside the image and the myriad of detail becomes apparent. The final movement is an energetic and compact dance with a slow introduction.
    (Source; Owen Underhill)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.