Becker Quintet

Click above for larger size

Composer: Becker, Valentin Eduard, 1814 - 1890
   Country of origin: Germany
Title: Quintett in A-Dur für Klarinet, 2 Violien, Viola und Violoncell
   Other titles:
   Movements: Adagio - Allegro moderato; Adagio; Sehr lebhaft (Vivace assai); Finale. Allegro vivace
Year(s) composed: 1858
Publisher: Erstdruck Edition; Amadeus (2005)
Duration (in minutes): 20
Clarinet type: A
Note: See comment below

One thought on “Becker Quintet

  1. The discovery of Valentin Eduard Becker’s unpublished, then “lost” Quintet for clarinet, 2 violins, viola
    and cello, composed in 1858, is a high quality addition
    to this genre. The work’s musical impetus is highly
    modern for its time. The quintet was “awarded 2nd
    prize on 3rd September 1858 in Frankfurt am Main.”
    at a composition competition. And rightly so! Richly
    inventive in both melody and harmony, it also boasts
    homogenous interaction between the instruments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *